How It Started

In 1966, municipal leaders from Yellowknife, Fort Smith, Hay River and Inuvik met to form an association representing the NWT’s community governments. The NWTAC was created to “promote the exchange of information among the community governments of the Northwest Territories and to provide a united front for the realization of goals.”


Stronger Together

All 33 of the NWT’s incorporated communities are members of the NWTAC. Together, we have become a powerful, effective voice for NWT community governments. Acting on our democratically-adopted resolutions, we advocate for the interests of NWT communities to the Governments of Canada and the Northwest Territories, and through the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM).



The NWTAC was known was the NWT Association of Municipalities until the creation of Nunavut in 1999. We are a not-for-profit society registered in the Northwest Territories and governed by the NWTAC Bylaws.